29th International Symposium on Artificial Life and Robotics
AROB 29th 2024
9th International Symposium on BioComplexity
7th International Symposium on Swarm Behavior and Bio-Inspired Robotics
January 24-26, 2024
B-Con PLAZA, Beppu, JAPAN and ONLINE (Zoom)

AROB 9th 2004 (January 28 - 30, 2004, B-Con Plaza, Beppu, Oita, Japan)

Organized By

  • Organizing Committee of International Symposium on Artificial Life and Robotics (Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Oita University, Japan)

Co-Sponsored By

  • Santa Fe Institute (SFI, USA)
  • The Society of Instrument and Control Engineers (SICE, Japan)
  • The Robotics Society of Japan (RSJ, Japan)
  • The Institute of Electrical Engineers of Japan (IEEJ, Japan)
  • Institute of Control, Automation and Systems Engineers (ICASE, Korea)
  • Chinese Association for Artificial Intelligence (CAAI, China)

Co-Operated By

  • The Institute of Systems, Control and Information Engineers (ISCIE)
  • The Institute of Electronics, Information and Communication Engineers (IEICE)
  • The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. (IEEE Japan Council)
  • Japan Robot Association (JARA)

Supported By

  • Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, Japanese Government (MEXT)
  • Air Force Office of Scientific Research, Asian Office of Aerospace Research and Development (AFOSR / AOARD)
  • SANWA SHURUI Co., Ltd.
  • Kyushu Bureau of Economy, Trade and Industry, Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry
  • Beppu City
  • The Federation of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry in Oita Prefecture
  • The Oita Prefectural Organization of the Industrial Groups
  • The Asahi Shimbun Company
  • The Mainichi Newspapers Co.
  • The Nishinippon Newspaper Co.
  • Nihon Keizai Shimbun, INC.,
  • NHK Oita Station
  • Oita Broadcasting System
  • Television Oita System
  • Oita Asahi Broadcasting Co. Ltd.
  • Oita System Control Research Society

Advisory Committee Chairman

  • F. Harashima (Tokyo Denki University, Japan)

General Chairman

Co-General Chairman (Program)

  • H. Tanaka (Tokyo Medical & Dental University, Japan)


  • J.L. Casti (Santa Fe Institute, USA)

Advisory Committee

  • F. Harashima (Tokyo Denki University, Japan)
  • H. Kimura (The Univresity of Tokyo, Japan)
  • T. Fukuda (Nagoya University, Japan)
  • S. Ueno (Kyoto University, Japan)
  • M. Tomizuka (University of California at Berkeley, USA)

International Organizing Committee

  • K. Aihara (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • W.B. Arthur (Santa Fe Institute, USA)
  • W. Banzhaf (University of Dortmund, Germany)
  • C. Barrett (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • M. Bedau (Reed College, USA)
  • Z. Bubnicki (Wrocław University of Technology, Poland)
  • J.L. Casti (Santa Fe Institute, USA)
  • H.S. Cho (KAIST, Korea)
  • J.M. Epstein (The Brookings Institution, USA)
  • T. Fukuda (Nagoya University, Japan)
  • H. Hashimoto (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • D.J.G. James (Coventry University, UK)
  • S. Kauffman (Santa Fe Institute, USA)
  • C.G. Langton (Santa Fe Institute, USA)
  • M.H. Lee (Pusan National University, Korea)
  • J.J. Lee (KAIST, Korea)
  • M. Nakamura (Saga University, Japan)
  • G. Obinata (Nagoya University, Japan)
  • S. Rasmussen (Santa Fe Institute, USA)
  • T.S. Ray (University of Oklahoma, USA)
  • H. Tanaka (Tokyo Medical & Dental University, Japan)
  • C. Taylor (University of California-Los Angeles, USA)
  • K. Tsuchiya (Kyoto University, Japan)
  • G. Wang (Tsinghua University, China)
  • W.R. Wells (University of Nevada-Las Vegas, USA)
  • Y.G. Zhang (Academia Sinica, China)

International Program Committee

  • K. Abe (Tohoku University, Japan)
  • K. Aihara (The University of Tokyo, Japan) - Co-Chairman
  • T. Arita (Nagoya University, Japan)
  • H. Asama (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • M. Bedau (Reed College, USA)
  • R. Belew (University of California-San Diego, USA)
  • Z. Bubnicki (Wrocław University of Technology, Poland)
  • T. Christaller (Fraunhofer Institute for Autonomous intelligent Systems - AiS)
  • C.S. Han (Hanyang University, Korea)
  • I. Harvey (University of Sussex, UK)
  • H. Hashimoto (The University of Tokyo, Japan) - Co-Chairman
  • K. Hirasawa (Waseda University, Japan)
  • H. Hirayama (Asahikawa Medical College, Japan)
  • N. Honma (Tohoku University, Japan)
  • T. Ikegami (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • H. Inooka (Tohoku University, Japan)
  • K. Ito (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
  • J. Johnson (The Open University, UK)
  • Y. Kakazu (Hokkaido University, Japan)
  • O. Katai (Kyoto University, Japan)
  • S. Kawaji (Kumamoto University, Japan)
  • S. Kawata (Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan)
  • S. Kitamura (Kobe University, Japan)
  • T. Kitazoe (University of Miyazaki, Japan)
  • S. Kumasagi (Osaka University, Japan)
  • J.M. Lee (Pusan National University, Korea)
  • C.G. Looney (University of Nevada-Reno, USA)
  • H.H. Lund (University of Southern Denmark, Denmark)
  • M. Nakamura (Saga University, Japan)
  • R. Nakatsu (KWANSEI GAKUIN University, Japan)
  • S. Omatu (University of Osaka Prefecture, Japan)
  • M. Okamoto (Kyushu University, Japan)
  • R. Pfeifer (University of Zurich-Irchel, Switzerland)
  • T.S. Ray (University of Oklahoma, USA) - Co-Chairman
  • T. Sawaragi (Kyoto University, Japan)
  • T. Shibata (AIST, Japan)
  • K. Shimohara (ATR, Japan)
  • H. Tanaka (Tokyo Medical $amp; Dental University, Japan) - Chairman
  • M. Tanaka-Yamawaki (Tottori University, Japan)
  • N. Tosa (ATR, Japan)
  • K. Ueda (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • K. Uosaki (Osaka University, Japan)
  • H. Wakamatsu (Tokyo Medical & Dental University, Japan)
  • K. Watanabe (Saga University, Japan)
  • M. Yano (Tohoku University, Japan)

Local Arrangement Committee

  • X. Feng (University of Singapore, Singapore)
  • A. Loukianov (Baikal State University of Economy & Law, Russia)
  • M. Rizon (Northern Malaysia University College of Engineering, Malaysia)
  • K. Shibata (Oita University, Japan)
  • Y. Suzuki (Tokyo Medical & Dental University, Japan)
  • J. Wang (Oita University, Japan)
  • X. Wang (Oita Institute of Technology, Japan)


This symposium was founded in 1996 by the support of Science and International Affairs Bureau, Ministry of Education, Science, Sports and Culture, Japanese Government. Since then, this symposium was held every year at B-Con Plaza, Beppu, Oita, Japan except in Oita, Japan (AROB 5th '00) and in Tokyo, Japan (AROB 6th '01). The ninth symposium was held on 28-30 January 2004, at B-Con Plaza, Beppu, Oita, Japan. This symposium invites you all to discuss development of new technologies concerning Artificial Life and Robotics based on simulation and hardware in twenty first century.


The objective of this symposium is the development of new technologies for artificial life and robotics which have been recently born in Japan and are expected to be applied in various fields. This symposium discusses new results in the field of artificial life and robotics.


  • Artificial brain research
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Artificial life
  • Artificial living
  • Artificial mind research
  • Bioinformatics chaos
  • Brain Science
  • Cognitive science evolutionary computations
  • Complexity
  • Computer graphics
  • DNA computing
  • Fuzzy control
  • Genetic algorithms
  • Human-machine cooperative systems
  • Human-welfare robotics
  • Innovative computations
  • Intelligent control and modeling
  • Micromachines
  • Micro-robot world cup soccer tournament
  • Mobile vehicles
  • Molecular biology
  • Multi-agent systems
  • Nano-biology
  • Nano-robotics
  • Neural Networks
  • Neurocomputers
  • Neurocomputing technologies and its applications for hardware
  • Pattern recognition
  • Robotics
  • Robust virtual engineering
  • Virtual reality
Copyright © 2023 ISAROB. Powered by Zen Cart